Kant’s Religion and Schleiermacher’s Faith

I am inspired (again) by the mind of Immanuel Kant (1724-1804) – the occasion this time being my third trip through Religion within the Limits of Reason Alone (1793, 2nd 1794 – ET 1934).  I’ve read and re-read a lot of Kant’s books since making my first attempt at the Critique of Pure Reason in 1975.  When my wife saw me paging through the Critique again about 7 years ago she asked, “Weren’t you reading that book when we first met?” (like, haven’t you finished that yet?).  But in my view Kant merits (and rewards) re-reading above all other philosophers.

My second solo study of the Religion was only five years ago (margin notes – no paper).  But this week I benefitted a lot from the discipline of a 25-page per day format and the knowledge that I was accompanied by three other students.   Before the new year started I found this very interesting 2011 reading plan in theology so attractive that I’m going to try to keep up with Jeremy and bloggers Wes Hargrove , and A.J. Smith  at least through April, catching the ‘Liberal’ works on his list.  A.J. will lead off the commentary on Jeremy’s blog soon, and I hope to add comments to their posts.

I think my old T.M. Greene translation served me well once again, but I found Werner Pluhar’s 2009 translation, which has some improvements – including an introduction by Steven Palmquist (which amounts to saying I’m bound to read this great work a fourth time someday and am actually looking forward to it).

Meanwhile I’m already embarked on the plan’s second volume, Schleiermacher’s The Christian Faith (1820/31 – ET 1928).  You think you know what he meant by Absolute Dependence and God-consciousness?  Think again – and join us if you can for 25-pages a day (just started) in this classic work of theology (I haven’t read this one myself except for scattered parts of the text).

6 thoughts on “Kant’s Religion and Schleiermacher’s Faith

    • Robert, Kierkegaard’s warning is cogent not so much against Hegel as against the ‘Hegelians’ of left and right of his day, don’t you agree?

      SK had an appreciation for Hegel I think but saw the disciples of Hegel (who died 1831) swarming the gates of philosophy and church with the idea that they could ‘go beyond’ Hegel. Feuerbach and David Strauss come to mind. And later Marx.

      Today I think we see some ‘continentals’ who think Spinoza and Hegel represent a ‘movement’ that can be understood without paying proper regards to Kant.

      Thanks for commenting.

      • John, Yes.. just like many of the “disciples” of anybody, from Calvin to Barth! But Hegal himself is always worth the read.

        And I always like Kierkegaard!

        Btw, have you hit the big 60 yet? I’m 62 this year myself (late Oct.) And I have a 14 year old son still (born when I was 46). God is good! 🙂 He and my older son (21 this month), keep me young (or so I hope? lol)

        • My youngest is 27, and I don’t know what it would be like having him still a sulking 14-year old at my current age 🙂 I salute you.

          Hegel’s 3rd Bk of the Philosophy of Religion and SK’s Philosophical Fragments are coming up later in this reading group I’m talking about. I’ver read the PF but not the Hegel, yet I will probably follow in both (I fixed the link to the reading list if you’re so inclined).

  1. John,

    I am blessed, both of my/our son’s are very good boy’s. My oldest is in college in the UK. My 14 year old is a XBox king, and thankfully he “sulks” very little. He even has himself a wee job at a bike shop.

    Now my oldest is the intellect, and has a sports blog, and also is the reader. He has taken to the English Civil War, WW2 European. But his major is English and Journalism in college. He has not yet shown the desire for theology?

    Now that I have bragged a bit! lol

    I also like Blaise Pascal, much like SK. And I think you will enjoy Hegel. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Kantian philosophy as ancilla theologiae et scientiarum « Next Theology

Your thoughts?

