Empyrean Dialogues 1 – Annunciation

The scene is the Empyrean just prior to the divine Son’s incarnation.  His servant Moses enters.

Son:  “I can see you have good news.”

Moses:  “Everything’s at the cusp, Sire.  Mary will hear your new name by announcement of our messenger as soon as she’s with child.  You’re to be ready at a moment’s notice.”

Son:  “Then call me Je’shua – ‘God is salvation.’”

Moses:  “The name, Sire, is supposed to help you remember it’s not about you.”

Son:  “We both know that a true Son of Man cannot forget God and neighbor.”

Moses:  “First order of business will be son of Mary and Joseph.”

Son:  “My immersion in the flesh.  Dear Moses, it’s a mystery even to me how I shall ever, in the fullness of my humanity, recall my divinity.”

Moses:  “Trust in God.  His will for you now is that you be made man.  And the child is always father to the man.  You have a nice family there, I’m sure eventually you will find him who sent you.  But you find him best by seeking him first with all your human mind and heart and strength, as the God of your fathers.”

Son:  “I know it must be first things first, if one day the last shall be first, and the first last.”

Moses:  “May those words come to mean more to them than directions for leaving synagogue after Sabbath service!”

Son:  “I so look forward to childhood, youth, and manhood – to know and suffer them as you did.”

Moses:  “Aye, in family and in tribe and temple, for duty and country.”

Son:  “Day in, and day out – until I find him who sent me.”

Moses:  “And remember how you shall seek him.”

Son:  “Neither here, nor there…”

Moses:  “Perfect.  And when he reveals himself within you, you will preach this inner reign of God so that all might hope that a saving measure of what is yours by divine nature may be theirs by divine grace.

Son:  “I’m solid, Mo.  And so is Father.  If I can learn to get some private prayer time down there we’ll be on the same page by the time the forerunner finishes his course.”

Moses:  “Well enough, Sire.  And since you mention your later career – you know Father hasn’t revealed to us whether your person and teaching will be accepted or rejected by the rulers in Israel.  I think we both see the wisdom of that, but it wouldn’t hurt to run down the possibilities one more time before you’re off …”

[to be continued]

Note:  the Empyrean Dialogues is a recent experiment of mine to see if I can manage a piece of didactic fiction which both entertains a little and presents interpretations of the Bible I believe to be worthy of reflection and discussion from the standpoint of incarnation and divine pre-existence.

12 thoughts on “Empyrean Dialogues 1 – Annunciation

  1. Thanks for the kind appreciation, Sherry.

    I put up a dialogue 4X longer than this – covering more issues – a few days ago but had to take it down after fussing over about 20 edits in 24 hours.

    This one represents just the bit from the beginning of the last, much improved (IMO).

    Trouble is it seems like this kind of writing can always be improved or nuanced in so many ways – it takes on a life of its own. In fact I’ve already spotted a couple small things I’m going to change after posting this comment 🙂

  2. Pingback: Some Advent Posts « Near Emmaus

  3. Thanks also, JohnDave and Brian and Tony.

    I am encouraged by the fact that the four of you who offer positive feedback here so far do not all hail from the same theological ‘school’ or ‘family’ – this can only be a good thing.

    I have more to come, but just returned from a winter vacation.

  4. Pingback: Empyrean Dialogues – 2 « Next Theology

  5. Pingback: Empyrean Dialogues 3 – The Forerunner « Next Theology

  6. Pingback: Empyrean Dialogues 4 – The Mandate « Next Theology

  7. Pingback: Empyrean Dialogues 7 – the First Sign « Next Theology

  8. Pingback: Empyrean Dialogues 8 – Temptations « Next Theology

Your thoughts?

