Reading break

A 5-night camp in a primitive area gets a person away from workplace and Internet all right, but does not afford as much study time as you might think.  With a night on the road in both directions, and the bulk of the five layover days given to the simple tasks of conducting life without conveniences, one’s free time must be very deliberately set aside (with the nights too cold for comfortable reading). 

For me a great benefit of being unplugged is the return to the old rigor of focused attention on a book, without recourse to electronic search engines offering attractive digressions along the spurs and side tracks of related trivia and close detail. 

Of the seven books selected for the trip, 2 bore fruit.

1. John, Jesus, and History, Vol.1, (Paul N. Anderson & others ed., SBL, 2007).  I tapped this book in preparation for some Fourth Gospel blogging here in the weeks to come.

2. F.D.E. Schleiermacher’s The Life of Jesus (Lecture notes 1832/ German 1st 1864/ Eng 1st 1972).  The English translation was edited (with 50-page Introduction) by Claremont emeritus Jack Verheyden – a key contributor to the JJ&H volume, above.  Schleiermacher was himself a great interpreter and proponent of the Fourth Gospel. 

This would be the third spring retreat in four years in which I have spent rewarding time with Schleiermacher, having studied the Monologen in 2008, and his Religion (a close re-reading) in 2006.

2 thoughts on “Reading break

  1. So where were you camped at? We camped at the Truro Family and Friends Retreat May 20-24 at Canaan Valley State Park in West Virginia. It rained the whole time. I will be posting on that tomorrow. I usually like to tent camp but you are right about doing much reading. I took books and didn’t open one. But I did hear good speakers.

  2. Well I usually don’t like to be too specific on a public venue like this about places we camp (the fewer who know about our favorites the better!) 🙂 And for other reasons.

    Your own weather story reminds me of the unusual snow flurry we had for 2 hours one afternoon on our desert trip, totally unexpected.

    I have been enjoying your comments – thanks for taking so much time with my writing. I’m a little unorthodox and am glad you can see that I’m not totally reprobate. I hope it is obvious that my strong faith in the past, present, and future reality of the Incarnate Son and his Spirit is what gives me the courage to question the ‘window-dressing’ of our religion.

    I have been out of church for almost two years, but my last place of worship was with our local Episcopalians for about a 10-year run, including Vestry and Treasurer. I still have fond memories, but my soul is getting a different kind of call lately – not sure what, reading, writing, etc. You’re Episcopalian too?

Your thoughts?

